home / working groups / the ritual year

The Ritual Year

Ritual yearThe working group on The Ritual Year was established at the conference in Marseille on April 29, 2004. Initiated by Dr Emily Lyle the inaugural meeting was held on 11 July 2004, in the department of Celtic and Scottish Studies at the University of Edinburgh.

Any member of SIEF who would like to join the working group should contact chair Irina Sedakova (). The working group on "The Ritual Year" will be able to serve as a most valuable forum for discussion. For our meetings there is a considerable choice among materials and approaches, while the focus might well change from time to time and from conference to conference. The format is flexible and in particular to make sure that we hear presentations from scholars representing a wide range of countries and approaches.

Topics discussed go over a wide range: civic ritual and processions, community identity, masking and drama, carnival and reversal, reciprocity and exchange, computerised aids to calendrical research, sports, dance and music, contemporary popular use of religious images, cosmological roots, interfaces between the secular and the religious and between different religions, festival foods, and symbolism linked to the economic bases of society, especially as concerns agriculture.

The field of study that often relates to this one rather closely in teaching students is that of life cycle customs, and the perceived connections between the year cycle and the life cycle seem likely to strengthen so that it may seem more and more appropriate to consider parallels between them. As in other ethnological areas of enquiry, members will take account of continuity, change and meaning, but the thing that is unique to this working group is the framework of the year.

Honorary Chair
: Emily Lyle
Chairs: Prof. Dr. Irina Sedakova, Russia.
Prof. Dr. Terry Gunnel Department of Celtic and Scottish Studies, University of Edinburgh.
Secretary: Irina Stahl
Member: Laurent S.Fournier


  1. Amundsen Arne Bugge,
  2. Androulaki Maria G.,
  3. Bárna Gábor,
  4. Bergman Anne,
  5. Blomster Anna,
  6. Bowman Marion,
  7. Brownlee Attracta,
  8. Butler, Jennifer,
  9. Clopot Cristina,
  10. Demski Dagnosław,
  11. Dushi Arbnora,
  12. Ek-Nilsson Katarina,
  13. Ekrem Carola,
  14. Engman Jonas,
  15. Fikfak Jurij,
  16. Gierek Bożena,
  17. Gergova, Lina,
  18. Gustavsson, Anders,
  19. Hägström Charlotte,
  20. Harrison Suzy,
  21. Helsloot John,
  22. Hugoson Marlene,
  23. Kaurinkoski Kira,
  24. Klimova Ksenija,
  25. Kockel Ullrich,
  26. Kõiva Mare,
  27. Kozorog Miha,
  28. Kuhn Konrad,
  29. Kuperjanov Andres,
  30. Lehtinen Ildikó,
  31. Lyle Emily,
  32. Lysaght Patricia,
  33. Magoulick Mary,
  34. Mardosa Jonas,
  35. McEntire Nancy,
  36. McKean Thomas,
  37. Midholm Lina,
  38. Mihaylova Katya,
  39. Minniyakhmetova Tatiana,
  40. Mishev Georgi,
  41. Multari, Anna,
  42. Mykytenko Oksana,
  43. Nilsson Mats,
  44. Oras Janika,
  45. Paukštytė-Šaknienė, Rasa,
  46. Povedák István,
  47. Povedák Kinga,
  48. Ruotsala Helena,
  49. Rychkov Sergey,
  50. Rychkova Nadezhda,
  51. Rychlík Jan,
  52. Šaknys Žilvytis,
  53. Senvaitytė Dalia,
  54. ten Siethoff, Morgana,
  55. Skarin-Frykman Brigitta,
  56. Škrbić Alempijević Nevena,
  57. Slavec Gradišnik Ingrid,
  58. Soverino Tiziana,
  59. Stanley David,
  60. Stolyarova Guzel,
  61. Sturdevant Nicolle Angela, 
  62. Testa Alessandro,
  63. Thompson Tok,
  64. Urboniene Skaidre, skaidreu(at)gmail.com
  65. Uzeneva Elena,
  66. Vaicekauskas Arūnas,
  67. Vesik Liisa,
  68. Vlaskina Nina,
  69. Wilk Urszula,
  70. Wojcik, Daniel,