Join SIEF on Facebook

Ethnology of Religion

The working group 'Ethnology of Religion' was founded in 1993 in Stockholm, initiated by the Swedish ethnologist Nils-Arvid Bringeus. The object of the working group is to study religion/religiosity as it is practiced in everyday life, in the past as well as in the present. The focus of the working group has always been on 'popular', 'folk' or 'vernacular' religion and less on the traditional institutional religions. The working group's interest is reflected in the themes of the organized conferences (see below), and includes also new religious movements, alternative religions, new spiritualities and, as it is called, invisible or implicit religion.

Download a report from the Working Group's activities in 2014 PDF

In 1999 the Hungarian scholar Gabor Barna (Szeged) became chair of the working group, until the Finnish scholar Ulrika Wolfs-Knuts (Abo) took his place as chair during the Celje conference in 2006. Peter Jan Margry from Amsterdam succeeded her in Warsaw in 2010.

Since the start of the working group in 1993 various meetings of the group have been organized. They partly took place as independent conferences, held in between two general International SIEF congresses, and were partly organized as in-congress meetings, appearing as a special panel during the international SIEF congress. Every scholar in the field may join SIEF/the working group; every member of SIEF is welcome to participate without any costs. It suffices then to send an email to the chair of the working group:

Dr. István Povedák (chair)
Dr. Anna Niedzwiedz (secretary)
Prof. dr. Marion Bowman (member)
Prof. dr. Peter Jan Margry (member)
Dr. Clara Saraiva (member)


Read the CFP for the next conference in Amsterdam in 2016 >>



Gregory Alles, galles(AT)
Arne Bugge Amundsen, a.b.amundsen(AT)
Veikko Anttonen, veiant(AT) 
Vihra Baeva, vihrabaeva(AT)
Kamila Baraniecka, kama1(AT)
Gábor Barna, barna(AT)
Paolo Barbaro, paolo-barbaro(AT)
Marijana Belaj, marijana(AT)
Salvador Rodríguez Becerra, becerra(AT) 
Berlinger, Gabrielle gberling(AT)
Jenny Blain, jenny.blain(AT)
Marion Bowman, M.I.Bowman(AT)
Nils-Arvid Bringéus, castor.bringeus(AT)
Attracta Brownlee, attractabrownlee(AT)
Paul Cowdell, paul.cowdell(AT)
László Koppány Csáji, csaji.koppany(AT)
Hana Dvorakova, hdvorakova(AT)
Helmut Eberhart, helmut.eberhart(AT) 
Judit Farkas, farkasjudit1(AT)
Jurij Fikfak, fikfak(AT)
Krisztina Frauhammer, frauhammer_kr(AT) 
Gaynor O Flynn, gaynor(AT) 
Helmut Groschwitz, helmut.groschwitz(AT)
Anders Gustavsson, anders.gustavsson(AT)
Imola Kullos, kullos.imola(AT) 
Mare Köiva, mare(AT)
Andres Kuperjanov, cps(AT)
Art Leete, artleete(AT)
Jonas Mardosa, jonas.mardosa(AT)
Peter Jan Margry, peter.jan.margry(AT)
Anna Niedzwiedz,  a.niedzwiedz(AT)
Maria Santa Vieira Montez, vieiramontez(AT)
Lionel Obadia, lionel.obadia(AT)
Éva Pócs, pocse(AT)
István Povedák, povedak(AT)
Kinga Povedák, povedakkinga(AT) 
Rasa Pranskevičiūtė, rasapran(AT)
Leonard Norman Primiano, primiano(AT)
Jeanmarie Rouhier-Willoughby, j.rouhier(AT)
Goran Pavel Santek , gpsantek(AT)
Clara Sairaiva, clarasaraiva(AT)
Monique Scheer, Monique.scheer(AT)
Bettina Schmidt,
Irina Sedakova,  irina.a.sedakova(AT)
Torunn Selberg, Torunn.Selberg(AT)
Vlatka Skender, vlatka.skender(AT)
Irina Stahl, irinastahl(AT)
Laura Stark, stark(AT)
Alessandro Testa, nyordet(AT)
Bea Vidacs, beavidacs(AT)
Oliva Wiebel-Fanderl, Oliva.Wiebel-Fanderl(AT)
Thorsten Wettich, thorsten_wettich(AT)
Daniel Wojcik, dwojcik(AT)
Ulrika Wolf-Knuts, uwolf(AT)