home / congresses / SIEF2015

SIEF2015 12th Congress: Zagreb, Croatia. 21-25 June 2015

Theme: Utopias, Realities, Heritages. Ethnographies for the 21st century

The 12th international SIEF congress took place in Zagreb, 21-25 June 2015. Over 900 anthropologists, ethnologists, folklorists and others interested in European culture gathered for four exciting days of keynotes, parallel panels, book exhibit and a congress banquet.

Read the congress theme, browse the panels and papers.

Useful downloads

Watch the Opening Keynote lecture at SIEF 2015 by Orvar Löfgren here

The congress programme can also be downloaded:
PDF SIEF2015 PDF Programme
Epub: SIEF2015 Epub Programme

Delegates who attended the conference can download a signed, headed PDF certificate of attendance. Login here and look for the C icon to do that.

Keynotes at SIEF2015

Living in the past, the present and the future: synchronizing everyday life. Orvar Löfgren (Division of Ethnology, University of Lund)

‘Returnee’ and ‘expatriate bubbles’: alternative modes of the search for community? Jasna Čapo (Institute of Ethnology and Folklore Research, Zagreb)

Slow Ethnography, Slow Activism: Listening, Witnessing and the Longue Durée. Deborah Kapchan (Performance Studies, New York University)

The Experience of Culture: Approaches to an Ethnography of the Immediate in Complex Relations. Bernhard Tschofen (Institute of Popular Culture Studies, University of Zurich) June 24, 08:45- 09:45, Student Center, Savska cesta 25

Closing Roundtable: Utopias, Realities, Heritages: Ethnographies for the 21st Century. Chair: Regina Bendix (Institute of Cultural Anthropology/European Ethnology, University of Göttingen)

Conference organisers

Local Committee
Department of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Zagreb: Nevena Škrbić Alempijević, Marijana Belaj, Sanja Potkonjak, Tihana Rubić, Petra Kelemen

Institute of Ethnology and Folklore Research in Zagreb: Jasna Čapo, Valentina Gulin Zrnić, Naila Ceribašić, Tvrtko Zebec

Scientific Committee
Jasna Čapo, Laurent Fournier, Valdimar Hafstein, Peter Jan Margry, Sanja Potkonjak, Clara Saraiva, Monique Scheer, Nevena Škrbić Alempijević

The Congress committees are assisted by the nomadic team of professional conference organizers, and membership administrators, NomadIT