home / congresses / SIEF2019

SIEF2019 14th Congress
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
14-17 April 2019

Track Changes: Reflecting on a Transforming World

The 14th international SIEF congress takes place in Santiago de Compostela, the capital of the autonomous community of Galicia in northwestern Spain and the destination of the Camino de Santiago (Way of St. James), one of the most important pilgrimage routes from medieval times. There could be no better place than Santiago de Compostela to host a conference for those well versed in the science and art of observing and analysing human tracks - ethnologists, folklorists, anthropologists and other trackers of culture. The congress' theme Track Changes: Reflecting on a Transforming World draws upon both the ethnological explorations of human life and its continual change as well as the transforming, yet constant, Camino.

The summary travel PDF can be downloaded here.

Programme coverSIEF2019 Congress Programme is available for download
This congress programme details the panels, papers, posters, films, keynotes and events that form the SIEF 14th congress in Santiago de Compostela.
DOI: doi.org/10.22582/SIEF2019prg
Dowload the PDF here pdf

Errata pertaining to printed and PDF congress programme
Since the book went to print a month ago 5% of the papers have withdrawn. While the app, this site's panel explorer and the running sheets on the doors are up-to-date, those using the printed book or PDF, should see the various errata below.
The following authors have withdrawn:

Birgit Abels (Body02), Muhammad Ala Uddin (Medi03), Åsa Alftberg (Medi03), Maria Barthez (Disc01), Martina Belluto (Medi02), Anthony Candon (Arch04), Vito Carrassi (Nar03), Nirha Efendic (Mig03), Karin Eriksson-Aras (Post01), Joakim Forsemalm (Post01), John Foster (Econ02), Cecilia Fredriksson (Disc07), Laura Gozzer (Mig02), Hariz Hailovic (Mig03), Puala Helm (Medi03), Jan Hinrichsen (Disc10), Antonietta Ivona (Digi03), Eva Knuts (Age03), Carmen Leideriter (Gend03), Stefan Lipan (Mig03), Cristina Lozano (Post01), Sebastiano Mannia (Rur03), Aurora Massa (Mig03), Magnus Ohlander (Disc09), Nourit Melcer Padon (Sui01), Silke Meyer (Mig03), Tatiana Minniyakhmetova (Post01), Eckart Müller-Bachmann (Age01), Mikka Nielsen (Medi02), Ana Piedade (Age03), Marina Pignatelli (Reli01), Lili Di Puppo (Disc10), Caitlin Rimmer (Arch04), Petra Schmidt (Digi02), Katja Seidel (Pol03), Marie Sigrist (Post01), Sofie Steinberger (Mig03), Isidora Urrutia Steinert (Post01), Youssoupha Tall (Env03), Jelena Tosic (Mig06), Lorenzo Urbano (Life03), Karen Van Lengen (Econ04), Welmoed Wagenaar (Heri04), Xuan Wang (Gend01), AnnKristin Winroth (Nar04), Maria Yelenevskaya (Body05), Asya Zaitceva (Mig03)

The following convenors have withdrawn:
Miguel Alonso-Cambron (Post01), Uta Karrer (Arch04), Sara Kohne (Pol02), Hannah Parathian (Env06). Dirk-Jan Visser (Disc02)

Other news:
AV01 ends at 15:00; The Young Scholars Working Group meeting (Wed 17th @ 13:00-15:00) is in Aula A; the printing place is also open today 16:00-19:00.


SIEF2019 Source: Santiago de Compostela Convention Bureau


Conference Organisers

Main organising institution: Institute of Heritage Sciences, Spanish National Research Council (Incipit CSIC)
Host institution: University of Santiago (Area of Social Anthropology)
Organising institutions: SIEF, AGANTRO, University of Santiago, University of A Coruña, University of Vigo, UNED, UTAD, Meertens Institute
SIEF2019 Congress convenor: Cristina Sánchez-Carretero
Congress Administration in Galicia: Sonia García

Local Organising Committee
Ana Ruiz-Blanch (Incipit-CSIC), Beatriz Santamarina (U. Valencia), Carlos Diz (U. da Coruña), Cristina Sánchez-Carretero (Incipit-CSIC), Elena Freire (U. Santiago de Compostela), Fátima Braña (U. Vigo), Guadalupe Jiménez-Esquinas (U. Santiago de Compostela), Joan Roura-Expósito (Incipit-CSIC), José Antonio Cortés-Vázquez (U. da Coruña), José Muñoz-Albaladejo (Incipit-CSIC), Luzía Oca (UTAD), Nieves Herrero (U. Santiago de Compostela), Bibiana Martínez (U. Barcelona), Paula Ballesteros-Arias (Incipit-CSIC)

Scientific Committee
Bernhard Tschofen, University of Zurich (Switzerland), Cristina Sánchez-Carretero, CSIC (Spain), Cyril Isnart, CNRS (France), Ewa Klekot, University SWPS (Poland), Fatima Braña, U. Vigo (Spain), Francisco Cruces, UNED (Spain), José A. Cortés-Vázquez, U. da Coruña (Spain), Nevena Škrbić Alempijević, University of Zagreb (Croatia), Nieves Herrero, U. Santiago de Compostela (Spain), Peter Jan Margry, U. Amsterdam-Meertens Institute (Netherlands), Sophie Elpers, Meertens Institute (Netherlands), Xaquín Rodríguez Campos, U. Santiago de Compostela (Spain), Xerardo Pereiro, UTAD (Portugal)

The Congress committees are assisted by the nomadic team of professional conference organisers, and membership administrators, NomadIT